You are currently viewing The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup | Best team | upcoming match in 2024

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup | Best team | upcoming match in 2024

T20 World Cup

Over 2.5 billion people worldwide watch international cricket matches each year; yet many do not fully understand how this sport works.

The 2024 ICC men’s T20 World Cup will bring teams from across the globe together in 55 games for one ultimate winner. This article will give all of the information you need to comprehend this tournament.

T20 World Cup  Hosts

The 2024 ICC men?s T20 World Cup will take place across 20 teams competing over 55 matches between them in both the United States and West Indies, including England who currently reign as champions after having won its previous edition in South Africa.

USA and West Indies were selected by the ICC following a bidding process, giving these nations an opportunity to showcase their cricket infrastructure and hospitality while receiving significant prize money – the exact figure has yet to be disclosed but last time around the winning team took home US$5.6 Million (A$8.5m).

Each of the 20 teams has been divided into four groups of five teams, deviating from traditional groupings. The top two teams from each group will advance to Super Eight stage; thereafter, two more will vie for spots in semi-finals and finally, in ICC T20 World Cup final.

The tournament will be officiated by an esteemed panel of umpires from around the globe, such as Rod Tucker and Paul Reiffel from Cricket Australia; Sam Nogajski and Kumar Dharmasena will make their senior men?s ICC event debuts; Australian broadcasters and former players such as Aaron Finch, Mel Jones, Ricky Ponting, Matthew Hayden and Tom Moody will provide commentary.

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup  Preliminary squads

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is less than four weeks away, and teams have begun releasing preliminary squads. New Zealand, runners-up in 2021 T20 World Cup, were the first team to name their squad on Monday (April 29). Kane Williamson-led side will begin their campaign against arch-rival Pakistan at event co-hosted by USA and West Indies from June 1 to 29.

England will also be looking to capture the crown, having finished as runners-up at the previous tournament. They have made changes to their squad including Jofra Archer’s return after suffering an injury during last year’s KFC Big Bash League and batsmen Richie Berrington, Michael Jones and Bradley Wheal joining him.

India are another prestigious team to unveil their squad and are scheduled to face Pakistan at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on June 5. They then plan on playing Ireland and Canada before facing West Indies at this same venue on June 9.

T20 World Cup  Matches

The 2024 ICC men?s T20 World Cup will be hosted jointly by USA and West Indies from 1 to 29 June 2024, featuring national teams of International Cricket Council member nations as participants. England are reigning champions, having defeated Pakistan in 2022’s final.

The T20 World Cup kicks off on June 2, when co-hosts USA and Canada face each other in Dallas. It marks the first time ever for America, and they hope it is off to an impressive start by beating Canada.

Allardice expressed his delight at having the opportunity to introduce cricket in America, where there is a “growing base of passionate supporters.” Allardice noted that U.S. teams had fared well at previous ICC events and believed they will only get stronger before tournament time arrives.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 round, taking place across West Indies starting June 19. The final will take place June 29 in Bridgetown, Barbados and will be broadcast live by Sky Sports UK as well as BBC?s Test Match Special for complete ball-by-ball coverage.

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup  Venues

The 2024 ICC men’s T20 World Cup will take place simultaneously in both the USA and West Indies for the first time ever, featuring 55 matches over nine cities. Three USA stadiums – Dallas, New York and Lauderhill – as well as six Caribbean venues including Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana will host matches before culminating with a final in Barbados on June 29.

The USA has never hosted an ICC tournament before, and is eager to make an impressionful first impression with its inaugural hosting of a major tournament. They plan on using modular stadium technology – an effective solution that expands venue capacity while simultaneously creating breathtaking spectator settings – in their debut. According to Geoff Allardice of ICC, this will give USA an opportunity to “showcase their world-class cricket facilities for everyone else worldwide”.

Teamwise, England are the defending champions and will attempt to retain their crown at this year’s tournament which kicks off June 2 with USA facing Canada at Grand Prairie, Texas.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Eight stage, while winning semi-finalists will play off for glory in a final. Matches will be shown live and digitally via Star Sports/Disney+ Hotstar in India; India will open against Ireland in New York on June 5, then will play four more group matches before moving onto semi-finals.

Leave a Reply